Biographical Dictionary of Indian Scientists
Nobel Prize
Padma Award
S S Bhatnagar
Women in Science


· S S Bhatnagar

Bhattacharya, Alok (Molecular Biologist)
Professor Bhattacharya has done pioneering work on the identification and characteristation of lipophosphoglycan and its modulation by bacterial flora and a novel species-specific calcium binding protein and its gene in Entamoeba histolytica. Identification of these molecules has opened up avenues to understand pathogenesis at the molecular level. Professor Bhattacharya is instrumental in establishing the Bioinformatic Center in the Jawaharlal Nehru University. He received Science Exhibition Award, Delhi University, 1968 and 1969; Robert McNamara Fellow of the World Bank, 1985-86; Rockefeller Biotechnology Career Development Award, 1988-90; Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1994 etc.

Datta, Asis (Molecular Biologist)
Professor Datta's recent work on the cloning and characterisation of two novel genes attracted international acclaim and has opened up a new area of research. His work on pathogenic yeast using Candida albicans as a model system to diagnose candidaiasis, which usually occur as a secondary infection in the AIDS infected patients, has provided an opportunity to investigate the control of expression of functionally linked genes. He received many awards and honours including Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1980; Guha Memorial Award, 1988; The first GD Birla Award, 1991; Nityanand Award, 1993; FICCI Award, Om Prakash Bhasin Award, Ranbaxy Award and Padma Shri in 1999.


Karmeshu (Mathematician)
Professor Karmeshu worked as Dean of the School of Computer and System Sciences in the Jawaharlal Nehru University from 1987-89. He published over 90 research papers in international journals. His work has been extensively cited in journals and books. Several books have devoted exclusive sections discussing Professor Karmeshu's mathematical models and techniques. He worked as a Member of the Editorial Boards of journals including Stochastic Hydrology and Hydraulics by Springer International. He received Dr. C.M. Jacob Gold Medal of Systems Society of India in 1990. He won Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize in 1993.

Pal, Sankar Kumar ( Engineer-Computer)
Dr. Pal has pioneered the integration of neural networks with fuzzy logic and propounded 'Neuro-Fuzzy Theory'. He also developed a software for forensic science that enables computers to work on distorted finger prints to get full print. He won many awards including Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1990; NASA Space Act Technology Award, 1993; Hari Om Prerit, Vikram Sarabhai Research Award, 1993; Patent Application Award, NASA Invention and Contribution Board, USA, 1995 etc.

Rajaraman, Ramamurti (Physicist)
Professor Rajaraman conducted outstanding research work in the field of elementary particle theory, quantum field theory, solitons and nuclear many body theory. He won many prestigious national and international awards including Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1983; G.P. Chatterjee Lecture Award, 1989 and Bose Medal in 1995.

For Details see the Book

Increase Website Traffic | Embroidered Patches | PGDM | Catastrophic Health Insurance | CPA Affiliate Marketing | Animation Institutes | Secured Loans